2018 finalists

The finalists have been announced for the Northern Star Business Awards, Aberdeen & Grampian Chamber of Commerce’s annual accolades for successful businesses across the region.

The awards, held in partnership with Sage, recognise companies in the North-east for their exceptional accomplishments across a range of fields from internationalisation and innovation to people development, environmental action and customer service.

The winners will be announced at a glittering ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre on September 27, hosted this year by BBC broadcaster and journalist Fiona Stalker.

The finalists in the categories are:

Going Global

  • activpayroll
  • Add Energy
  • BioTechnics

Inspiration from Innovation

  • Glencraft (Aberdeen) Limited
  • MAC Architects
  • Return to Scene Ltd

Staff Matter

  • Bon Accord Care
  • Marathon Oil UK
  • Phil Anderson Financial Services Ltd

Customer First

  • Breakout Games Aberdeen
  • Chatten Quality Meats
  • Dial-a-Community Bus
  • The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Marketing Magic

  • Aberdeen Performing Arts
  • Big Partnership (in partnership with Aberdeen Football Club)
  • Fierce Beer
  • Maggie’s Aberdeen

Making the Difference

  • Aberdeen Performing Arts
  • DAB Plus
  • Glencraft
  • Sport Aberdeen
  • Station House Media Unit (shmu)

Family Business

  • Laings
  • Mackie’s of Scotland
  • The OTL Group

Overall Business of the Year

  • activpayroll
  • Balmoral Group
  • WM Donald Limited

Rising Star

  • Hall Morrice Corporate Finance – Melanie Gilmour
  • Mearns & Gill – Andrew Spence
  • VisitAberdeenshire – Raeanne Verlegh

Student Placement

  • BW Offshore
  • DAI (Digital Applications International)
  • Repsol Sinopec 

Eco Hero

  • Aberkil
  • Dab Den Ltd
  • Grampian Housing Association

Inspiring Futures

  • Anderson Anderson Brown and Oldmachar Academy
  • Glen Tanar Estate and Aboyne Academy (in partnership with Hospitality Training, Springboard and Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Craigendarroch)
  • Macphie and Mearns Academy
  • Wood and Northfield Academy 

The winner of the final award – for lifetime achievement - is announced on the night.