Aberdeen University has won 24th Aberdeen Boat Race

Aberdeen University has won the Aberdeen Standard Investments Boat Race which took place today (Saturday, March 23). The Aberdeen University crew turned the tide this year, following last year’s defeat, winning easily (over five lengths ahead) in a time of 7:53.6 minutes. Their rivals, Robert Gordon University, finished the course in a time of 8:30.0 minutes. Aberdeen University also triumphed in the 2nd Crew Race and the Alumni Race, reclaiming the title with a clean sweep.

Hundreds of spectators lined the banks of the River Dee to cheer on the universities as the crews competed in the nail-biting race.

Anna-Sophie Tirre (21), president of Aberdeen University Boat Club (AUBC), said: “We’re absolutely ecstatic to walk away with the trophy this year. I am very proud of everyone’s hard work and commitment. The crew’s determination was relentless and our perseverance has paid off.

“We were up against strong opponents – Robert Gordon University were really prepared for this race, but this is what made the challenge all the more exciting. I would like to thank Aberdeen Standard Investments for their continued support of the Aberdeen Boat Race.”

Erin Wyness (22), president of Robert Gordon University Boat Club, said: “Congratulations to University of Aberdeen on their win today. Robert Gordon University has put in a lot of effort these last couple of months but were hard up against it with quite an inexperienced crew and some technical difficulties leading up to the race. Although we didn't execute the race how we wanted to this year, the student athletes gave their all. This is my fifth time as a part the Aberdeen Boat Race, this year coaching the crew rather than rowing in it myself, and unfortunately my last.
“It was a brilliant day from start to finish for all the athletes who raced and the spectators who lined the river bank to cheer on the crews. I’d like to thank Aberdeen Standard Investments for their backing for this event – we couldn't do this fantastic event year on year without their support and the help of the organising committee and volunteers who really make it happen on the day.”

The alumni boat race was won by Aberdeen University by five lengths in a time of 8:30.0 minutes. Aberdeen University also won the universities’ second crew boat race in a time of 2:17.6 minutes.
STV competed against the BBC in a heated media race. STV claimed the title of the challenge in a time of 1:03.6 minutes, finishing the race by half a boat length ahead.

Martin Gilbert, chairman of Aberdeen Standard Investments, said: “On behalf of Aberdeen Standard Investments, I would like to congratulate the winning crew from Aberdeen University. I would also like to acknowledge the effort of the Robert Gordon University crew who also gave a stellar performance on the water. Both university teams should be proud of themselves -they have put in remarkable hard work and determination for the race. It’s an inspiration for us all to watch young talent commit to a sport and achieve incredible results. Aberdeen Standard Investments is proud to provide support to emerging talent in Scotland’s longest-standing boat race.

The two teams battling it out in this year's Boat Race

The two teams battling it out in this year's Boat Race

More like this…

View all