Harbour welcomes new board members

Aberdeen Harbour Board has appointed three new non-executive directors to its Board: Eleanor Craig, Roy Buchan and Michael Keith.

The new members bring a wealth of leadership skills and experiences, after working at executive levels in local, national and international businesses.

Eleanor Craig has had a 20-year international career with Diageo, where she held several managing director roles. Whilst working with the company in Australia, she chaired the Alcohol Industry Group and was a board member of Drinkwise. Eleanor has also spent several years in Singapore, where she was President over a Cambodian charity who were raising funds to build and equip a new hospital. She also ran her own successful consultancy business, Craig Consulting, and was chair of Lexia Analytics. Eleanor is a non-executive director of the Scottish Qualification Authority which is a Scottish Government appointment.

Roy Buchan has more than 30 years’ experience in the oil and gas and agriculture industries. He has extensive executive leadership experience with BG Group, Talisman Sinopec and, most recently, as COO of Ithaca Energy. He has significant international experience, including expertise in oil and gas operations, capital projects, drilling supply chain and asset management. He is strongly connected in the decommissioning sector, both from a network and industry expertise perspective. Roy is a Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute, a Fellow of the Institute of Marine Engineering Science and Technology and holds an MBA. Roy currently supports a business tech start-up company called Udrafter, and is a member of the Board for the Operational Excellence (OPEX) Group.

Michael Keith has more than 30 years’ experience in the construction industry, most of which has been spent with Morrison Construction, part of Galliford Try plc. He has held senior finance and operations roles with Morrison, including managing director of their building business in Scotland. His current role is finance director. Mike is an associate member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants. This is his first non-executive director appointment.

Alistair Mackenzie, chairman of Aberdeen Harbour Board, welcomed the arrival of the new non-executives, adding: “The administration and maintenance of the port is the responsibility of Aberdeen Harbour Board, which is an independent trust authority, consisting of nine non-executive and three executive members. With Eleanor, Roy and Michael as part of our Board, we can be assured that their skills and experiences will contribute to positive and effective governance as we operate a port which provides prosperity for generations of people in the North-east of Scotland and beyond.”

More like this…

View all