The outstanding artistic and creative talents of more than 150 youngsters from throughout Aberdeen city and shire were celebrated this weekend when the winners of the St Margaret’s School for Girls Democracy Poster Art Award were unveiled.

All those who took part in the competition were invited with their families and art teachers to attend an exhibition of their work at the school, where the winners and runners-up were formally announced.

The Democracy Poster Art Award 2018 was organised by St Margaret’s School for Girls, Aberdeen’s only all-girls independent school, as a way of marking the centenary of the vote for women.

Pupils in primaries 5, 6 and 7 from schools throughout the region were invited to submit entries based on the wider theme of democracy.

St Margaret’s School head of art, Theresa Scott, said: “We wanted pupils to think about what democracy meant to them, why it is important to have a voice and how they use that voice both at school and in their wider communities.

“A poster design is an effective way for them to communicate visually and get their message across while recognising their artistic and creative talents.”

Head teacher Anna Tomlinson said: “This is the first time we have held such a competition at the school and we were really quite overwhelmed with both the amount and the calibre of entries. It was very obvious that a lot of thought and work had gone into the artwork.

“There were many interpretations of what democracy means to individuals and choosing the winners was not an easy task. We were delighted to welcome so many young people and their families into the school and we very much hope that the Poster Art Competition will become an annual fixture in the school calendar.”

The competition was sponsored by Hobbycraft, Papeterie Crafts and Soroptimist International Aberdeen, with representatives from Soroptomist International and RGU’s Gray’s School of Art on the judging panel.

The winners and runners up were:


Winner: Grace Campbell, Fettercairn School, Laurencekirk

Runner up: Ben Ross, Marykirk Primary School, Laurencekirk


Winner: Liam Sharp, Port Elphinstone School, Inverurie

Runner up: Lily Chaplin, Drumblade Primary School, Huntly


Winner: Jenna Harrison, Port Elphinstone School, Inverurie

Runner up: Harvey Dawson, Marykirk Primary School, Laurencekirk

Winners and runners up in each category were presented with mixed media art set; a craft paper box was given to the class of the winning school in each category; there was a £50 cash prize for the class of the winner in each category to vote democratically and donate £25 of the prize money to a charity of their choice and £25 to buy a teaching and learning resource. All entrants also received a certificate of achievement and commendation recognising participation in the competition.

More like this…

View all